No Pet for Me

Am I animal lover? Well, at least I never throw a stone to stray cats or dogs. I let them enjoy their life in peace.

Am I a pet owner? Nope. I don’t have a pet and I don’t think pet is for me. I once a pet owner. One accident made me a bit trauma having a pet.

I once have two adorable hamsters. My friend gave them to me. My Mum called them Hamham and Taro. We didn’t know which one is male or female. We love them so much and fed them every day. Until one day, one of the hamster stop eating much and went to sleep almost whole day. It was Taro.

Me and my family kinda worried, what happen to Taro. We saw Taro still eating, so we keep gave them food. Until one day, I woke up with a big surprise. It was ordinary Sunday morning when I woke up. I saw Mum and my brother circling the cage. I asked them what’s going on.

“Taro gave birth!” said my Mum. I rushed and sat to her side and looking for the little hamster. There was none. “Where’s the baby?” I asked.

This time my brother answered my question, “Hamham ate them all!”

His answer made me almost passed out. Then my brother explained how he knew Taro gave birth and how Hamham ate the babies. That explanation really made my whole family sad. The most tragic thing, few days later Hamham and Taro escaped from their cage. Don’t ask how.

Since then, I declare that I’m not fit as a pet owner. No, Sir!

*Prompt 27 April: Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to? Menagerie

Leave a Reply

